All Collections
Projects
Builder Tab
Marking a Change Order (or Option) as "SOLD"
Marking a Change Order (or Option) as "SOLD"

How to mark a Change Order (or Option) as "SOLD" in your Project

Patti avatar
Written by Patti
Updated over a week ago

(This article shows the process to mark a Change Order as "SOLD", but you can follow the exact same steps outlined in this article to mark an Option as "SOLD".)

NOTE: Changes to a Project are referred to as "Options" in the Opportunity, Estimate, and Proposal Stages. In the Contract, Install, Review, and Completed stages, those changes are referred to as "Change Orders".

Marking as "Sold"

When you have sold a Change Order in a Project, you have the option to mark it as "SOLD".

To edit the details of the Change Order, hover your mouse over the name of the Change Order to bring up the "Edit Change Order" window.

At the bottom of this window is the option to "Mark Change Order Sold". (This can be reversed and marked "NOT Sold" by following the same instructions.)

The Change Order will now show "SOLD" next to the title.

With "SOLD" next to the Change Order's name, it provides a visual indication for your team that the Change Order has been accepted by your client and the items on the Change Orders will be pushed to the Purchasing page of your Project.

NOTE: Marking a Change Order as "SOLD" will not put the items from the Change Order into the main part of the Project, and it will not add to the value of the Project Total. Those will occur when you merge the Change Order to the Project.

When Using a Change Order to Replace Items

If the items in your Change Order are being used to replace other items in the Project, marking the Change Order as "SOLD" will change the way the replaced items appear in the Builder.

The replaced item's information will become greyed out, but the item will still be editable, if needed. Hovering your mouse over the small question mark will bring up a notification "This item has been removed from this project by Change Order 'name of change order'".

(Creating a new version of your project before marking as sold or merging allows you to save a copy of the project as it was, with the Change Order remaining separate from your main project version.)

Change Order Items on the Purchasing Page

Once the Change Order has been marked as "SOLD", the items will appear on the Purchasing page along with the original items in the Project. An asterisk will display next to the Project Quantity indicating that it includes items from a Change Order.

Please Note: All items on Change Orders must match the original items in the Project exactly in order to be combined on the Purchasing page.

  • If an original item in the Project is not ordered or ready to order, the Change Order item will update the Project Quantity and Order Quantity of the original item on the Purchasing page.

    For example, if there are 5 instances of the item in a Project, and the Change Order is adding another 1 of that item, the Project QTY column will show 6*.

  • If an original item is not ordered or ready to order, and the Change Order removed all instances of that item from the Project, then that original item will be removed from the Purchasing page completely.

  • If an original item has already been ordered or received, and the Change Order is adding more of that item, a new purchasing line for the Change Order item will be added directly below the matching item on the Purchasing page.

  • If the original item has already been ordered or received, and the Change Order is deducting some of that item, a negative quantity will show on the Purchasing page. This helps to serve as a visual reminder to adjust the allocations of the items you've already received to reflect the new Project Quantity.

  • If the item from the Change Order is a new item (not found elsewhere in the Project) then a new line will be added on the Purchasing page.


We hope this helps! Please reach out to us in support chat if you have any questions 🙂

Did this answer your question?